Buddypress plugin registration activation.

I'm a novice with a sincere desire to learn but may be over my head.

Currently my Wordpress with Buddypress plugin site is loaded on bluehost. What is my first step in getting the registration activated in BuddyPress? No where on the dashboard does it show options.

BTW the plugin concern dropdown does not have simply, "BuddyPress" . I haven't a clue as to what BuddyPress Activity Plus is.

Thanks in advance for help.

uc
    • Elite

Hi ShirleyB,

I take it that you installed buddypress as a plugin. Depending on you worpresss install, if you are running a single site you will need to go to plugin on the dashboard to activate BuddyPress plugin. For a multisite install you will need to log into your Site and go to Network Admin > Plugins > Installed Plugins to activate your BuddyPress plugin

After activating you will be presented with to complete the installation usually at the top of the dashboard. Click on the link that appears to run the installation wizard to ensure you get BuddyPress set up correctly

To enable registration for single site install:

1. Go to Settings > General
    2. Next to Membership select ‘Anyone can register’.
    3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Save Changes.

For multisite:
    1. In your Network Admin dashboard, go to Settings
    2. Under Allow new registrations select ‘Both sites and user accounts can be registered’

You can find detailed instruction on how to set up Buddypress here

http://premium.wpmudev.org/the-buddypress-manual/

I haven't a clue as to what BuddyPress Activity Plus is.

BuddyPress Activity Plus adds three new buttons to the activity stream, which enable users to quickly share photos, videos and links.

you can watch the this short tutorial here:http://premium.wpmudev.org/project/media-embeds-for-buddypress-activity/
    and checkout the instruction on how to customize:

http://premium.wpmudev.org/project/media-embeds-for-buddypress-activity/installation/