The Sites Menu in the Network Admin dashboard is used by the Super Admin to manage existing sites.
Editing Users’ Sites
1. Go to Sites > All Sites in the Network Admin dashboard.
2. Locate the site by either scrolling through the list of sites or searching for the site using “Search Sites”.
You have a range of options once the required site is located:
When you click on the Edit action link it takes you to the Edit Site panel where you can view and edit options of the site and add users.
You use the Edit Site page to edit site features such as:
- Enable a theme that is disabled site wide on a specific site
- Manually override the network wide ‘Site Upload Space Quota’ for a specific site. For example, change the network quota from 100 MB to 5 GB on a specific site
- Change the role and passwords of site users
- Add new users to the site
The Edit Site page has four Tab menus:
- Info – this is the basic site information. You normally wouldn’t change any information here. NOTE: Never change the Domain or Path URL as it will cause problems to your site.
- Users – Super Admin users can use the Users tab to add Existing and New Users to the site
- Themes – used to enable a theme that is disabled site wide on a specific site. Clicking Enable will make that theme available for the site and it will be listed in Appearances > Themes in the site admin dashboard.
- Settings – lists the settings for the site. The Settings tab is where you can manually override the network wide site ‘Site Upload Space Quota’ for a specific site.
When you click on the Dashboard action link it takes you to the dashboard of that site where you have complete access to all features of that site e.g. you can add, edit, delete posts and pages; modify site settings; change the site theme.
Reverses the activation step users go through when they signup for a site.
Deactivated sites can be reactivated without much fuss.
There’s really not much use to deactivate on a typical WordPress Multisite.
Marks a site as being archived so it’s not accessible by users.
Archived sites can be unarchived.
Some people use this option to test the waters before deleting old and unused sites.
Used when you find a spam site but aren’t completely sure it’s spam so you mark it as spam.
You can mark it as “not spam” if it turns out to be legit.
Deletes the site entirely.
Use with extreme caution because once a site is deleted it can’t be recovered.
The better option in most circumstances is to archive a site rather than delete it.
Takes you to the site URL.