Advice on my plan, please.

I am still new to WP and to MU, but I believe that this is the best platform to use to build my projet on. But, I need some tactical advice about how to proceed with the build out.
Are there certain themes and plugins I should install or activate before others to get the easiest and most advantageous outcome. Provided below, I am providing an outline of what I am trying to do.

I am hoping that you can point me in the right direction, using WPMU components.

THE PROJECT OUTLINE:
Indymall.CO/TheIndymall.com is a local public “utility”. It offers free general info from the TheIndymall.com interface, article directories, and other features of the complex. Visitors must register and be logged in to participate in the discussion groups, to setup a personal profile, and to generally contribute to the community through the mall interface, in groups, forums, blogs, article submissions, etc.
- IndyMetroCafé.com - official Indymall Magazine/Blog. Should be able to draw content from across the network.
- Classified Ads - Post Free Ads for two weeks with one or two images.
Longer duration or more images require paid placement.
- Marketplace - providing an Etsy-style experience for local businesses and individuals to sell their products.

>Three Membership Levels at the outset.
• Social Club Membership - Includes site membership beyond just the community experience, it allows access to participate an most of the features available through the site network.
• IndySaversClub - Newsletter subscription, personalized coupon offers
• Featured Business Club - For paid business memberships. It provides a wealth of services and opportunities, including participation in the Marketplace, a Business Profile/Showcase similar to a Facebook account and Fan Page, access to post articles and images promoting the business, products or special offers.
• IndyBizBlogs - members may manage their own blog in the Biz Blog Forum.