Any REAL SEO options for a MU/Buddypress/bbpress installation

I have NO experience with Buddypress, but, if I'm understanding things correctly then there is NO real SEO plugin for a wpmu blog incorporating a buddypress installation.

What can I do to help with SEO???

Hope I've worded my dilemma correctly???

Doug

• Mason

Hiya Doug,

At the moment the options for a BuddyPress SEO plugin that works "out of the box" so to speak is really non-existent. A plugin we've recommended on wpmu.org is supposed to be updated mid-month according to the developer:
    http://sven-lehnert.de/en/buddypress-en/buddypress-plugin-seo-for-buddypress/

A good article on the discussion of BuddyPress SEO is here (he also recommends the plugin above)
    http://www.wordpress-seo.org/buddypress-seo/

I know other members are looking for a solution to this as well. Anyone else want to chime in?

• gina

hey mason... i was going to ask.. i've tried the plugin you guys recommended seo for buddypress but i am either not doing something right.. or maybe i'm not doing something right :slight_smile:

so i read this on the dev's site:

In the main blog theme header.php, must exist
    < title > < ?php bp_page_title() ? > < /title >
    In the user blog theme header.php, must exist
    < title > < ?php wp_title(); ? > < /title >

i am using genesis, genesisbuddy and a studiopress theme... i looked within my child theme and i am not seeing my header file there for the main site...

on my user's theme i see the header.php but i don't see < title > < ?php bp_page_title() ? > < /title >
    is this something i am supposed to confirm is there or input?

i am running on empty - sorry if i sound like a ditz...

as always..... thanks :slight_smile:

• Mason

Hiya Gina,

Yeah, the Genesis framework adds an extra layer of complexity to the issue. You don't have a header.php in the child themes, instead you add actions to your header through the functions.php file.

For example: