Ask a specific user a question

I'm just starting out setting up a new Q&A site and I was wondering if there's a way to ask a specific user a question? The default set-up seems to be that you ask a question to everybody. Thanks :slight_smile:

• mattbailey
    • Design Lord, Child of Thor

Hi Mason, thanks for the reply.

Can I give a bit more information - I forgot to mention that I'm also using Buddypress and my intention is to create a combined theme so that the users can take advantage of all social features of Buddypress, plus the Q&A features of the Q&A plugin.

Knowing this bit of extra information do you know if it's possible, without hacking the code, to be able to use the Q&A features to ask a specific user a question?

If I have to hack the code I assume I could set it up so that each question is tagged with the users ID number (if it isn't already) and then use this as a hook to be able to build the front-end aspects of what I want to achieve?...

• Mason
    • DEV MAN’s Sidekick

Hiya mattbailey,

Apologies for the bit of delay as it was a holiday weekend here in the US.

Knowing this bit of extra information do you know if it's possible, without hacking the code, to be able to use the Q&A features to ask a specific user a question?

Currently there's not a way to do this. One way I can think to do it (but would still require some custom code) would be to modify the user page setup by the questions plugin or the authorbox to display a link to the display box. It'd be something like this:

<?php if ( is_user_logged_in() && !bp_is_my_profile() && function_exists( 'bp_send_private_message_link' ) ) : ?>
    	<div class="generic-button" id="send-private-message">
    		<a href="<?php bp_send_private_message_link() ?>" title="<?php _e( 'Send a private message to this user.', 'buddypress' ) ?>"><?php _e( 'Send Private Message', 'buddypress' ) ?></a>
    	</div>
    <?php endif; ?>