Asp developer starting work in WP has questions

My questions may seem odd, to me it’s odd that I can’t seem to see how to do what I have done in asp.net. I am very new to WP (lets say fell off the truck new) but I have a lot of experience in asp, html, css, etc but I am having a problem translating what I have always done into WP. My site is for projects within my company. Each project wil have an owner with 0 or more team members that are also part of the whole company. Everyone can read everything from all projects but only the owner and team members of that project can update the project (and the site admin) depending on team member roles. I have been told to use subdirectories not subdomains to throw that in. Any employee can become a project owner and must be able to set up his/her own project and also establish team members and their roles. A user can be owner of 0, 1, or many projects. A user need not own any projects. So I did a bit of research and I think that:

1) Using the Members plug in will give me groups and some additional stuff i will need

2) Using a custom post type for the project should work

3) and here is where I do not understand the ways of WP. I will say this in my HTML/asp way… I need to display a “new project” form so that the employee can enter project details and have those details saved into the WP MySQL DB tables. And, I need to display an “update project” form that shows those saved details to the owner/team members so that they may change them and save them to the DB. I have looked at contact forms stuff where the outcome is an email but I need it to go directly into the DB assuming fields validate. I just can’t seem to see how to do this in WP. Adding a new post is available only to the admin. What I need to do is make that available to registered users and to allow updates to it from a group of assigned users.