Best Host for Multisite?

What is the best & fastest host for using wp multisite? Is there any official recommendation/favorite? I've checked into wpengine, zippykid, etc... any other/better suggestions?

• Arun Basil Lal

Hello warpedmind,

It depends on how big a site its gonna be, plus your budget. Our users have always loved http://www.linode.com/ and I personally prefer Host Gator.

I would recommend to start on a share hosting plan of Hostgator and build your site. Moving Hosts is not that big a deal, so when the site grows bigger, you can move to a costlier option.

I have a wpengine account and they sure know what they are doing.

Personally, I do not like Godaddy, DreamHost, Site5 or BlueHost, they have some technology that takes down your site for minor peaks in resource usage, I mean, in shared hosting.

I have been using HostGator for the past 4 years, awesome team and support :slight_smile:

I hope this helps. Let me know what you think!

• Timothy Bowers

If you are planning on a huge site using many plugins and themes then a VPS or dedicated server is a good consideration.

Shared hosts will always restrict you on resources. Some are worse than others, some will even terminate your account without notice if you use a few to many resources. Those Unlimited type hosts are usually the worse for this.

If you want to check out reviews of hosts and find suggestions then you will find WHT a useful resource:

http://webhostingtalk.com

They also have a number of offers going off in their forums. Some of the larger companies also have staff who occasionally hang out there. :slight_smile:

Take care.

• James Dunn

Hey @WarpedMind.

I'm running a ton of traffic on a "modified VPS" system - my previous host (Fasthosts) was great, but just didn't have the capabilities that I needed sometimes. They limited the scripts that I could install and run. My current host has an excellent service and support and seems to handle the traffic that my clients throw at it.