Best solution for multiple blogs

Hi
I am a teacher trying to set up e-learning portfolios for 70 children who we are trialling a 1:1 iPad programme with.
I need all blogs to have the same template, plus added security (login to view and possibly passwords). Can I create a .csv file that has the usernames/blog names etc (multiple uploader) but that also designates the same template to them? I seem to need to work between the following plugins, (multisite privacy, new blog templates, batch create or blog and user creater) which ones would do the job and which order should I create theses blogs in to make it the most time effective process?
I have a New Blog template query open as it didn't work when I tried to use it.
Thanks for your help.
Nicki

• Timothy Bowers

Hey there.

Do you need New Blog Template just for setting the theme?

Well if you wanted to ensure all sites use the same theme but don't need to set loads of options then you could use this instead:

https://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/how-can-i-activate-a-child-theme-across-300-mu-sites-easily#post-315895

Multisite Privacy will protect their sites from being seen if that's what you need?

Usernames and Passwords for accounts are still handled by WordPress if that is what you mean? So each student could have their own account?

Batch create will indeed let you setup accounts and sites in a batch process. This will bypass the normal site creation so New Blog Template won't get fired.

Take care.

• nicki_wise

Hi

The e-learning portfolios need to have loads of options/categories etc already preset so the New Blog Template does work for that. Applying just the general theme to all won't work.

If i use batch create - can I assign a blog template to each new site within this process - I can't see how I can apply a template after creating a site? If this is not possible then will I need to set up each site manually to assign a template to it?

Each child does need their own account.

Thanks

Nicki