Best way to blog on a shared multisite?

Hi there!

I’m looking for a simple way to have one shared blog across an entire multisite network (3 sites).

The blog would allow 3 different users to post to the blog from the 3 sites (main site and 2 subsites).

I’m new to wordpress, blogging in general so i’m not familiar with how things work. The blog would also need to have different categories that I am able to have different templates for (depending on the category).

Thank you all for all of your efforts here in the forums!

Much Love

Ciro

• Tyler Postle
    • CGO

Hey Ciro,

Hope you’re doing well today!

Do you want all blog posts to be on the same site? Or do you want them to each be on their own site.

So for example, you have author 1, 2 ,3 and also site 1, 2, 3.

Each site can have it’s own blog so each author could have their own blog OR you can allow them all to blog on the main site. You can do this by simply changing the users user roles to author on the main site.

The cool thing about Multisite is that all sites share 1 user database. So your users can navigate between the main site dashboard and their own site seamlessly. Only 1 login.

If you want each author to post on their own blog but then also collect all of the posts and display them on the main site then you could use our Post Indexer and the Recent Global Posts plugins. This allows you to display a list of network wide posts anywhere on the main site with just a shortcode or template function.

Hope that helps! Let us know if you have any further questions :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Tyler

• Ciro Bey
    • WordPress Warrior

@tyler Postle

Thank you Tyler.

I am looking to have just the one blog on the main blog which will allow the other sites to post to that blog as well. For now, there will only be one user doing the posting, but would need to post “as site number 2 , site number 3, and site number 1”.

Do I need to set up new users for the main site then?