Can Cloner clone and entire Multisite?

Hi ya,
I'm completely new to WPMUDEV, so forgive my ignorance.

I've been looking for a way to do staging. But also to copy from live to dev in order to do testing and development.

I've set up a multisite to have customer facing and then a subsite for staff.

I'd like to clone the entire thing to a development site.

But looking at Cloner, it appears to only allow cloning of the individual subsites. Not the whole thing...

Have I missed something, or is there a way of doing this I'm missing?

Thanks,
Norman

• Predrag Dubajic
    • Support

Hey Norman and welcome to WPMU DEV community :slight_smile:

You're not missing anything, Cloner is indeed plugin that is designed only to clone subsites inside a network, there's no option to clone your entire network to different location.

What you need here is to do a complete migration.
    You should check out our Snapshot plugin for that.
    This is our backup plugin and even though it was not designed to be used as migration tool we have a number of members that were able to use it for this.

When Snapshot is enabled you can go to Snapshot > Managed Backups panel that will allow you to create a backup of your entire network.

You can then go to your websites section on WPMU DEV site, https://premium.wpmudev.org/hub/my-websites/, and in there click on the backups icon for your site in order to get access to your backup file:

In that tab you will find your backup file and when you click on the restore icon you will find additional information on how to restore the file:

Hope this does the trick for you :slight_smile:

Best regards,
    Predrag

• Norman
    • Flash Drive

Sadly, looks like Snapshot doesn't do migration. I've finally been able to run some tests, but Snapshot doesn't make any attempt to change paths, or allow moving databases.