Can i delete a membership level but retain the users

Being very cautious...

I have a ton of membership levels that I am no longer using (they provided access to a festival we did a year ago). All these levels create a lot of visual noise on the membership backend pages.

Can I delete the membership levels - but still retain the users or will deleting a level delete the users. (I am assuming it won't but I just want to be very certain)

thanks...