Can I have 'break Times' of 5 minutes in Appointments+

Hi,

As the padding time doesn't work in your Appointments+ plugin. Can you advise how I could create 'Break Hours' of 5 minutes in my service provider area?

At the moment all it will let me do is create break times of 15 minutes.

See here: https://screencast.com/t/fXen8svFTo

  • Rupok

    Hi Chris White,

    As the padding time doesn't work in your Appointments+ plugin

    Thanks for asking but padding time works absolutely fine on my test site. So it should work fine on your site too. Is it not working on your site? Can you please tell us a bit more details regarding this so we can try to fix that for you?

    I could tell you better about the issue if I could see it live, check your current configuration and make some tests on your site. Would you mind allowing Support Access so we can have a closer look at this?

    To enable support access you can follow this guide here:
    http://premium.wpmudev.org/manuals/wpmu-dev-dashboard-enabling-staff-login/

    Please confirm here when you are done granting Support Access.

    how I could create 'Break Hours' of 5 minutes in my service provider area?

    The time chunks depend on your Appointment General settings. To change the chunk duration, please go to "Dashboard > Appointments > Settings > General" section and insert "5" in the "Additional time base (minutes)" section and save. Then change the "Time base (minutes)" option to 5 minutes. After that, This is the minimum time that will be effective for durations, appointment and schedule intervals. Service durations can only be set as multiples of this value.

    I believe this will help. Please let us know if you have any confusion or any further query. We will be glad to help.

    Have a nice day. Cheers!
    Rupok

  • Chris White

    Hi,

    By all means have a look at what is wrong with the Appointments+ plugin, in regards to padding time, here is my support request: https://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/padding-doesnt-appear-to-be-working#post-1240062

    Your colleagues have confirmed it doesn't work, and so I am waiting for the developers to correct this and find a solution.

    As for the 'Beak Hours' it seems that I have to stick with 15 minutes as 'Break Hours' reflects the time period on appointments.

    So I have

    Appointments = 15 minutes.

    Therefore it appears I can only have 'Break Hours' of 15 minutes.

    I need '5 minute' break hours.

    I do not think your solution will provide this? I tested and I got a 'Services are not divisable error' And I was only 'allowed' to have 10 minute timslots for my appointments.

    If you could provide a solution on this that would be great

  • Nithin

    Hi Chris White,

    Hope you are doing good today. :slight_smile:

    Your colleagues have confirmed it doesn't work, and so I am waiting for the developers to correct this and find a solution.

    From reading the last reply from Kasia, the current setting in the Appointments+ plugin would be how the Padding works, so this isn't a bug.
    https://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/padding-doesnt-appear-to-be-working#post-1240509

    I do not think your solution will provide this? I tested and I got a 'Services are not divisable error' And I was only 'allowed' to have 10 minute timslots for my appointments.

    I'm pinging the developer regarding this to check whether we could have any quick workaround, will keep you posted, once I get a feedback from the developer regarding this asap.

    Please do note that developers work round the clock with many critical issues, and hence have a slow response time. Either myself, or the developer will keep you posted.

    Kind Regards,
    Nithin

  • Chris White

    nithin - sorry I am confused.

    Padding time - doesn't work. If my service providers have timeslots of 15 minutes then I add 'Padding Time' or 15 minutes

    what should happen?

    a) a break time of 15 minutes between each available timeslot? - which is what used to happen until current or previous update or
    b) a 15 minute time slot, becomes a 30minute time slot? - which is what happens now, and is not what I would call 'Padding time'

    Maybe I am now misunderstanding the current meaning of 'Padding Time' ?

    The soluton offered here: https://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/appointments-legacy-time-calculus-ignores-padding#post-812510 was tested and it does not work, so this is no use to us.

    panos - Many thanks I will use this to see if it will change the 'Break Hours' to 5 minute slots. I iwll let you know.

  • Nithin

    Hi Chris White,

    Hope you are doing good today. :slight_smile:

    a) a break time of 15 minutes between each available timeslot? - which is what used to happen until current or previous update or

    Sorry for any confusions related to this. If you check the last reply from Kasia, she checked this in all versions of Appointments+ plugin, and there isn't any version where padding time works as you have mentioned.
    https://premium.wpmudev.org/forums/topic/padding-doesnt-appear-to-be-working#post-1240509

    b) a 15 minute time slot, becomes a 30minute time slot? - which is what happens now, and is not what I would call 'Padding time'

    At the moment there isn't any bug in the plugin related to Padding times. What you have mentioned above would be how padding time works.

    Does the break time suggested above works for you? If not, I could check with the developer to see whether we could have a workaround related to how you have want Padding time to behave.

    Please do let us know how that goes, have a nice day. :slight_smile:

    Best Regards,
    Nithin

  • Chris White

    HI,

    Thanks for that.

    Firstly I haven't had a chance to use your Functions.php solution. I will let you know if it works.

    Secondly regarding the 'padding time' why has its function changed? Why call it Padding time when it is not longer 'Padding time'

    its function appears to have changed to 'Extending Timesolts' which is nothing like 'Padding time' or nothing like what it was??!

    Your should make this point clear in your marketing, that 'Padding Time' between timeslots is not 'Padding time' but 'extend timeslots'

  • Chris White

    Hi,

    I have tested the functions.php solution, but it doesn't seem to work.

    Break Hours - now can be in 5 minute chunks - see here: https://www.screencast.com/t/wP9R8jFztXys

    But on Front end the timeslots do not match 'Break Hours' see here: https://www.screencast.com/t/Zjd2iXxkWoRA

    There should be timeslots for 15 minutes length:

    9am to 9.15am
    Break Hour: 9.15am to 9.20am
    9.20am to 9.35am

    As you can see from screenshot there is no 'Break Hours' at 9.15 or 9.35am and timeslots are not available for 9.15 to 10am?

    Maybe this solution doesn't work the way you stated? or I have misunderstood?

  • Nithin

    Hi Chris White,

    Secondly regarding the 'padding time' why has its function changed? Why call it Padding time when it is not longer 'Padding time'

    I'm afraid the function hasn't changed, but I do understand what you have meant here, and how it should have worked. I'll bring this into the document writers attention to make this clear in the Appointments+ plugin homepage with regards to marketing. Sorry for any inconvenience due to this.

    As you can see from screenshot there is no 'Break Hours' at 9.15 or 9.35am and timeslots are not available for 9.15 to 10am?

    I'm a bit confused, you meant appointments slots to be 15mins, and Break hours as 5 mins, right? If yes, I think, I know what's causing the Break Hours to not show properly. Could you please check whether you have configured it correctly, as shown in the following screenshot:

    I suppose this should make it work, please do let us know how that goes, have a nice day ahead. :slight_smile:

    Best Regards,
    Nithin