Can I put widgets in the feature area?

I'm new to wordpress in general, so I apologize if this is obvious. I'd like to put some widgets in the 'feature' areas. Perhaps logged in users, or recent blog posts. But it seems I only have the option to put widgets in the sidebar or the very bottom footer.

Is this possible? Perhaps with shortcodes?

• DavidM

Hi SJoAnneF,

No worry about asking questions here, even if they've been asked, that's what we're here for! :slight_smile:

To get widgets in other areas than the theme specifies, you'll have to alter the theme's template files. The following article over at BuddyDress goes through the process of adding widget areas and is quite easy to follow (though we'll need to work on getting the video back up and running).
    http://buddydress.com/2010/04/add-a-widget-anywhere-in-3-simple-steps/

In this particular case, it could get a bit extensive, but I'll have a look at that. Are you trying to replace the featured section itself?

-David

• Philip John

Hiya,

As we haven't heard back from you we're going to assume the problem was sorted out and mark this thread as resolved.

If it wasn't resolved, or you have any more questions related to this thread please feel free to post them below and tick the 'Mark as Not Resolved (re-open)' box below the post area (or else we'll miss it!)

Otherwise, thanks for using the forums, and, as always, for being a member of WPMU DEV, it's a pleasure to help you out and we look forward to being of assistance in the future.

Thanks!
    Phil

• tokyoterri

Hi Folks:

I'm having the same problem: I need to add widget areas to various parts of the front page of this site I'm building for a non-profit: http://few.modernmediajapan.com/

I'm sorry: I tried reading through the instructions on BuddyDress; it would be a great help if the instructions focused on the sections under the slider in Studio, rather on adding a widget to a sidebar, which is fairly easy to isolate.