Can MarketPress meet this requirement

Hello,

When it comes to Wordpress I am self taught, I know what I want it to do but then struggle as to what is the best method within WP to use, I then end up sitting through endless tutorials and developing websites to evaluate which is the best method.

The functionality I now want is straight forward, best described by example:

1) Define a Product e.g. Car
2) This Product then has endless attributes e.g. Colour
3) The values of the attributes can be defined e.g. White, Blue, Red etc
4) When creating a record for the Product then the attributes are a drop down list
5) When querying the Product then want the user to be able to choose values from a drop down list for each attribute and, Walla, all Products that match the chosen attribute values are displayed!!!

A simple basic requirement, very easily done in Drupal or using any basic RDBMS such as MySQL or Oracle, the attributes values are saved in slowly changing dimension tables and a relationship created back to the Product dimension table.

However, my customer wants to stick with Wordpress, I have done nothing to try and dissuade them so far. The decider will be the volume of records.

Assuming the volume of records will not break Wordpress's ability to retrieve data from the database I would appreciate guidance on how best to implement the above functionality, the following is what I am setting up and evaluating, this is where I need the feedback:

1) PODS or CustomPress
Set up the dimension Product as a Custom Type
Set up each slowly changing dimension as a Custom Type and create relation back to Product e.g. Custom Type 'Colour' relates back to Product custom field 'Colour'

2) Gravity Forms
Have not started yet, but probably the wrong choice, do not know as have not gone through all tutorials and used it in earnest.

3) MarketPress by WPMU Dev and (PODS or CustomPress)
MarketPress has the Product Custom Type set up