Categories & Sub Categories (not displaying sub cats)

Hi All
OK i'm having an issue with categories and sub categories.
Im new at this so dont know if its something i'm doing wrong or if its a conflict between marketpress and my theme.
i would like to have what i would class as a standard layout on my shop where if a category has sub categories, then if you open that category, it logically and automatically shows you the sub categories, rather than only displaying all the products within those sub categories, which is what is happening with my site at the moment.

please take a look at....
http://www.pcperfect.co/store/

i have created a simple table with my main categories. for example if you click on the networking link, it takes you to the networking category, which has 2 sub cats, ADSL & DSL, yet it does not display these, only the products within the 2 sub cats. Why is it doing this????????
if this is norm, it kind of defeats the object of having sub cats, or am i doing something wrong??????

PLEASE HELP
many thanks

• waynerp
    • Design Lord, Child of Thor

Hi Digitsoft

I did initially use the shortcodes [mp_list_categories] & [mp_dropdown_categories], but they both left a gap between one specific category. i put a post on her before, and someone suggested that it might be a conflict with the theme i'm using, which is why i have made my own simple table layout, as im by no means an expert.
    what im finding difficult to understand is why it isn't 'Standard' as it is on ALL other carts both free and paid to be able to simply display the sub categories, without the having all the hassle of coding.

• 3SixtyEvolve
    • New Recruit

Hi Wayne

Thank you for being a member and for posting this question to the forum.