Changes retroactive on prosites?

Let's say that I make membership plugin auto activate for anybody and site A, site B and site C are created. Then I decide to change from everybody getting membership plugin auto activate to it being for silver level members only, and Site A is a free site not a silver level premium site, will free site A still have access to membership plugin? Or will they now have to upgrade to use it?

Thanks