Chat window not appearing for non-admins!

Hiya.
I installed the Chat plugin on one of my sites, and configured it for registered members only. The bottom corner chat is showing up for me as an admin, but when I login as different subscriber test users, it doesn't show up. I've gone to the "Authentication" area and enabled it for subscriber, but it's still not working.

The subscribers can see and participate in a group chat that's enabled. And as an admin, I can initiate a private chat with a subscriber, and THEN the bottom corner window will show for them. But the Public Chat room bottom corner window that should always be there is not showing for them. Also, when they go to a member profile or members directory, the button for initiating chat with someone doesn't show.

Any help in solving this mystery would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks.

• Vinod Dalvi

Hi Anton,

Thanks for posting on the forum.

Would you mind if I logged in to your site and did some troubleshooting? This might help get to the bottom of this faster. If this is ok, just grant me temporary admin access to your site by clicking "Grant Access" button in the WPMU DEV Dashboard Settings as described on the following page and reply on this thread after granting it?

https://premium.wpmudev.org/manuals/wpmu-dev-dashboard-enabling-staff-login/

Kind Regards,
    Vinod Dalvi

• Vinod Dalvi

Hi Anton,

Thank you for granting the support staff access.

I have tested on your site and i didn't see the bottom corner chat even as an admin user.

Please advise.

I have tested it on my test site using latest version of Chat plugin and it worked fine for me as an admin and subscriber user.

This can be due to plugin/theme conflict on your site.

You can just try on your development site temporary using default WordPress theme like Twenty Fifteen and temporary deactivating all other plugins as displayed in the following flowchart to know which theme/plugin is conflicting if any.