Checkout Page showing plan + expiration before user chooses plan

This is a clean install with only: pro sites, the snapshot plugin, smtp mail plugin and 2016 theme.

I want to register my users before sending them to /pro-site/ checkout. If a user registers through standard wordpress registration and then goes to checkout page they are shown "Your current plan" expiring today or tomorrow, and the option to change a plan.

This is all before they have ever picked a plan or paid. I have the option to create a site on registration turned off. There is NO site created for this user... yet it shows a plan (expiring within 24 hours).

Any ideas?

P.S. Prosites by default won't allow checkout for a user less than "editor", so after registration via default wordpress registration form you need to use admin account to elevate new user to editor.