Click on Member Profile Navs Away from Multisite Mapped URL to Subdomain.

So, I’m operating the latest versions of WP and BP, and using multisite. I’ve mapped http://changeincorporated.org/counselinginternshipscom to http://counselinginternships.com, and installed BP to root ID 7. I’m using the Chameleon Elegant theme with the BP Template pack for that theme.

But to be fair, I had this problem when trying out another theme as well (Huddle Theme, now scrapped). I’m VERY new to BP so I’m sure I sound like total noob here but here goes.

Trying to get this all working.

When I click on a member profile (my membership profile to be exact) the following things happen:
1. The nav bar attempts to load http://changeincorporated.org/counselinginternshipscom/members/ryanneace, instead of what I’m guessing it should be – http://counselinginternships.com/members/ryanneace.
2. Yet, that page never actually loads, and instead the navbar switches to http://changeincorporated.org/counselinginternshipscom, then to counselinginternships.com, creating the net effect of a really long pause/load only to have the homepage refresh.

I'm certain there's something wrong with the overall setup, but I'm clueless as to where to begin.

HELP!

Thanks!

• aecnu

Greetings ryan_thomas_neace,

It makes all the difference in the world and it applies to the way DNS works and resolves going through the httpd.conf and vhosts.conf files seeking the domain.

I could certainly go into a deep conversation about this subject, servers and network administration being my natural profession for the last 14 years and certainly make your eyes glaze over, but I will spare you all the techno babble.

Bottom line sir is that the instructions specifically dictate that a dedicated IP is required. The second line of the Domain Mapping instructions tells about the dedicated IP requirement. They also indicate to make sure your IP resolves to your MultiSite.