Coding Lifetime Support, Membership ?'s

Hi!

I’ve been planning this for over a year now, and finally took the plunge and got everything up within hours last night (helps I’m a developer so I can do this with my eyes closed). I’m opening up a “Build your own Website” type of network using a WP Framework + Child Themes.

I have have ONE subscription level, with 3 options. Monthly, Yearly, or Lifetime. NO free levels, or users. After doing some research on this forum, it seems there are two ways to add lifetime support to this plugin;

A. By hacking code, which I’m cool with but don’t want to have to do it again when you update your plugin. B. By using a membership system, which I’m cool with as long as I can still use Pro Sites?

Which is the preferred method? I’m happy to start using your membership plugin, but do I need it? I do not want to loose the way ProSites is setup, as it’s precisely what I need for my business model.

Thoughts?

Nick

• Philip John
    • DEV MAN’s Apprentice

Hiya!

Nice idea – I reckon you should be able to achieve that by using Membership and the integration that allows you to assign a Pro Site level to subscribers.

That way, your lifetime subscription would place folks on the 3rd Pro Site level but only charge the one-time amount, where as your other two would be recurring subscriptions.

Thanks,

Phil

• Philip John
    • DEV MAN’s Apprentice

Oh, another method – which might be easier – is to hook into the process that Pro Sites users to trigger renewals.

When Pro Sites goes to charge a lifetime user for another year of access you can jump in and “fake” the purchase, convincing Pro Sites that the renewal payment has occured, there by leaving the user on that level but not having actually paid again since the initial signup.

Thanks

• nphaskins
    • Flash Drive