Create a Network of Wordpress Sites with subdomains

Hi,
I'm a newbie who's stuck on step 2 of "Creating a Network by Enabling Wordpress Multisite". When I'm in wordpress/wp-admin and I click the "Network" menu under "Tools"... I don't have the option of choosing subdomains, at this time... only subdirectory. I believe that I successfully created virtual hosts on my wamp (and I think that's what you need to do, right?). I used this tutorial:

http://blog.jlbn.net/?p=23

Is this a mod_rewrite thing? What am I missing?

Thx in advance,
Schiffy

• drmike

Welcome to wpmudev.

Like most support forums, it;s a plus to always give the url of the site or page in question so folks can see what's happening. Also a check of your webserver's error logs is also a plus.

I ask in this case because not being able to setup subdomains can be one of a list of reasons. For example, there's a 30 day window from the initial install of wp to change over to multisites. I have a feeling that this is the case for yours.

Is this a new install?

Have you actually setup the wildcard dns on your server as per step 2? If you;re lost, please walk us though what specifically you;ve done. Please remember specifics always help. Also what are you using on the hosting site for hosting software? (ie CPanel, Direct Admin, command line, etc.)

• schiffynet

Drmike,
    I'm developing the site through wamp on my computer, so there is no url to give.

1) How do I check my error logs?
    2) I didn't follow re: the 30 day window from the initial install. It is a new install.
    3) Can you direct me to a tutorial or walk me through setting up the wildcard dns on a wampserver?
    4) Is it possible to use CPanel when you're going off wamp on your computer?

I appreciate any help. I'm sort of figuring things out. Apologies if I'm all over the place.

Schiffy

• Mason

Hiya Schiffy,

There's quite a few tutorials out there on running WordPress on WAMP.