Creating a custom post type for specific styling

Hey. How do I create a custom post type?

My intention is to set the CSS for the custom post type to be fullwidth, etc.; without a sidebar, so it's distinctive from other post types

At this stage, i'm just getting into the creation process. I would appreciate some direct explanation * and * some links, if possible :slight_smile: Thank you so much

• Sajid

Hi @Griffin,

Hope you are doing good today :slight_smile:

Using WordPress custom post type is a great idea to extend it from just a simple blogging platform. However, I did not get your point, you can use CSS code to make some posts to be fullwidth targeting with category archive CSS (depends on theme) class.

As an elite member you can use our CustomPress plugin that allows you to create unlimited post types right from your dashboard. It also have easy UI to create custom fields and custom categories.
    https://premium.wpmudev.org/project/custompress/

If you are not a fan of using plugins for everything then you can register post types via code as described on this blog post.
    https://premium.wpmudev.org/blog/creating-content-custom-post-types/

Hope that helps! If you still need help, feel free to post a reply.

Take care and have a nice day :slight_smile:

Kind Regards,
    Sajid J

• Griffin

It's like this:

I'm using the 'X' theme, which is awesome.

I wanted to change the post display on the theme from 'container' to a more fullwidth, across-the-screen kind of look. To accomplish this, they gave me some functions.php code, which changed * all * posts to that style.

I realized that I might want to also have the 'container' style posts (background, black borders around middle-of-screen content; the normal kind) as well as the constant forced fullwidth.

So, I was considering, would it be a workable solution for me to develop a custom post type that had the visual parameters I wanted.