Creating a plugin to Increase members' storage space over time

I run a small membership site, and I currently allocate members a certain amount of storage space when they sign up.

I want to implement a system, however, whereby a member's storage space increases over time. It would increase by a set amount each month depending on that person's membership level.

Eg. Level 1 gains 200MB per month. So they start on 100MB in month 1, then they have 200MB storage in total in month 2, and then 300MB storage in total in month 3, and so on. Level 2 might add 200MB to their storage total each month.

I can't find a plugin on here, or anywhere else, that does this so I'm guessing I need to build one myself!

I feel like this wouldn't be complicated to implement, but would appreciate some help in getting started. I've messed around with creating plugins before, but I'm still an amateur.

If you could point me in the right direct of the Wordpress code to edit this type of stuff I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks,
Colin

• Alexander
    • DEV MAN’s Mascot

Hey @Colin,

Nice chatting with you in live support this morning. Got a few more questions, and some info for you.

Are you using Multisite? Or are you already using something to manage the upload space? By default, WordPress single site doesn't impose anything. On Multisite, an upload quota can be set, but it works on a per site basis - not per user.

Curious to see if you have anything so far. If not, could you give a bit more context on how it will be used?

Membership specific functions for access and subscription info can be found in membershipincludes/includes/functions.php

As for working with the multisite upload quota, take a look at how Pro Sites does it in the upload quota module: https://premium.wpmudev.org/project/pro-sites/

Best regards,

• Colin
    • Site Builder, Child of Zeus

Good question! Sorry, that was a pretty obvious thing to tell you.