CustomPress single-xxx.php example

The Events plugin isn't what I need for just "online" events so I decided to go with making my own custom post types. I have an events type setup with a few custom fields to start with and a few taxonomies. The plugin has created the single-events.php page but it's just a copy of the single.php file (correct, right?)
Not much code in it and I'm not a php programmer and I can't really tell where to insert the embed codes for the fields and taxonomies. Can someone give me an example or show me where/how to do this? Thanks.

• TerryG

Using the Abundance theme from by Kriesi. Here's the whole code for the single-events.php file:

<?php
    global $avia_config;

avia_get_template();

/*
    	 * get_header is a basic wordpress function, used to retrieve the header.php file in your theme directory.
    	 */
    	 get_header();

?>

<!-- ####### MAIN CONTAINER ####### -->
    		<div class='container_wrap <?php echo $avia_config['layout']; ?>' id='main'>

<div class='container'>

<?php avia_title(); ?>
    				<div class='template-blog template-single-blog content'>

<?php
    				/* Run the loop to output the posts.
    				* If you want to overload this in a child theme then include a file
    				* called loop-index.php and that will be used instead.
    				*/

get_template_part( 'includes/loop', 'index' );

//show related posts based on tags if there are any
    					get_template_part( 'includes/related-posts');

//wordpress function that loads the comments template "comments.php"
    					comments_template( '/includes/comments.php'); 

?>

<!--end content-->
    				</div>

<?php
    				$avia_config['currently_viewing'] = "blog";
    				//get the sidebar
    				get_sidebar();

?>

</div><!--end container-->

</div>
    	<!-- ####### END MAIN CONTAINER ####### -->

<?php get_footer(); ?>
  • Kimberly