Date of last modication instead of date of first publication

Hi there! Can't find (any other question on) how to change the date of posts for the last modification date instead of the date of first publication. I think it's a general wordpress question...
You use it: "last modified on...", I think it's really better!

Thank you

• Nastia

Hello v-i-n-c-e-n-t , I hope you are doing well!

I think this is more related to a theme you are using than to General WordPress question. Please let me know what theme you are using?

You will need to create a child theme and modify the functions.php file.

Unfortunately, I am not a code expert here, but I can say that you will need to replace the the_date_xml(); function with the the_modified_date(); .

Please see the bellow links fo reference:
    https://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/the_modified_date
    https://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/the_date_xml

I hope this will help!

Cheers,
    Nastia

• v-i-n-c-e-n-t

Hi Nastia, thank you for your response,
    I'm fine, and you?

Well, I think it should be useful for several sites I'm working on, but, first of all, on one where I'm using the (free version of the) theme Blask.

Hmmm, Ok, I understand that, if not already planned as an option in the theme, it's time for me to go further than just rewriting a few CSS lines and create my first child theme!! :grinning:
    And so, I've got to achieve some steps first!

Thank you for the links :slight_smile:
    Cheers

• v-i-n-c-e-n-t

Hey, to be able to start, I found this 2 little plugins:
    The first works, but only adds a line at the beginning of the post, and with no customization possible:
    https://wordpress.org/plugins/post-updated-date/

You can show the result on my website (much less cool than on wpmudev posts):
    http://v-i-n-c-e-n-t.com/sculpter-la-photographie/

For the second one, well, 'don't know why, it refused to work with me:
    https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-open-last-modified/