Different Chat ID's on the same page

I am looking at customising the chat plugin by using the chat id to my advantage.

I am thinking that each ID serves what is stored on that chat.

So ideally:
- Chat id="7"
- Chat id="8"

are completely different chats and will hold completely different conversations, is that correct?

So that way, I can store the short code within my dreamweaver template, and run a WP loop that will create 100's of different chats for different users that chose a different option when signing up.

Is this correct, would using the chat ID in this way work?

(Providing, that this is how chat's are distinguished differently).

• Mike

Hi @owen_o_neill

Thanks for posting your question!

I'm afraid that I'm no coder, so I could be horrendously wrong, however I have looked through the plugin files and it looks to me as though you are correct, the chat ID is regularly referenced when displaying, logging, loading chats.

If you know PHP, what you might be able to do is change the ID that is used, to the user ID, that way each user could have their own chat that is only displayed to them.

Don't ask me how you would go about doing that though!

I hope I have been able to add some clarification and that my comment has helped point you in the right direction.

Cheers,
    Mike

• Paul

@owen_o_neill,

As they say you don't want to be messing with the code underneath. Yes, in the current version the ID of the shortcode is used and useful for your needs. But in the upcoming Chat 2.0 we have done away with the public chat ID.

Basically the ID within chat is used to group all the message for a given chat session. You can see this via the wp_chat_messages and wp_chat_logs database tables. All messages are stored within the wp_chat_messages table. The wp_chat_logs table provides a way to group the messages by session.