Directory signup disabled, no page hierarchy

Hi. I'm a wordpress novice and basically a frontend internet user. I'm using the Directory plugin with the Twenty Eleven theme. I also have your Marketplace Lite plugin. It works well. Will likely upgrade it soon. The problem I'm having with the Directory theme is 1) The pages show fine when they have no parent. But that clutters up my top of page menu. So, I tried putting all the Directory pages under the main Listings page. Seems like the program isn't setup to work with that sort of hierarchy. The page says it "..can't find what you're looking for..." 2) When all the pages are not under a parent they work fine except the signup page says that the administrator has disabled the sign up function.
Please advise on how to correct these issues. My site is at http://www.trinichi.com Thanks.

• aecnu

Greetings l_e,

Welcome to WPMU Dev!

Thank you for bringing this significant issue to our attention and you will find that it acts differently under different themes depending on how the theme handles custom post types etc.

There is an included theme that addresses these items correctly, did you find it, upload it separately to the theme folder and check it out perhaps?

Please advise.

Cheers, Joe

• l_e

Thanks for that suggestion. I like the theme I have. Will this change the look of my entire site? I intend to use several of your plugins very soon. Will each of them require their own theme. Are the themes integrated into my main theme? I guess what I'm asking is whether I will be able to have a cohesive site that looks and operates the way I envision it. I'm about to try your suggestion. Will let you know what happens asap.

• l_e