Don't yet see 'Network Setup has been added underneath your Tools menu item'

Hi - am following the steps in the beginner's manual and have edited the wp-config.php to
define(‘WP_ALLOW_MULTISITE’, true);

however, I don't see the Network Setup link under the Tools (even under Network Admin)
and hence the options to choose either sub-domains / sub-directory is not available / visible.

makes me wonder...
- is it because I've setup the wordpress using Softaculous?
or
- is there something that I still need to do via the CPanel?
or
- am I missing something?

BTW - I'm a total novice, so...

• Charlie Pryor
    • The Incredible Code Injector

Hi Niom! Welcome to the forums!

Judging by this thread at Wordpress.org, Softaculous may not have given you a complete package in terms of their auto installer.

Another possibility is that you're browser is caching things, and it's just not showing up. Try navigating away from your site and then coming back, and/or clearing your cache. Maybe it'll show up.

Manually installing Wordpress is much more complicated than an auto-installer... but not by much. if you wanted to start over and try installing it yourself, you can follow WPMU DEV's video guides in this playlist at YouTube.

- Charlie

• PC
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Hey there @Niom

Thanks for posting on the forums.

One of the major reasons is copy/paste the below code.

define(‘WP_ALLOW_MULTISITE’, true);

Now if I type it in it looks like :

define('WP_ALLOW_MULTISITE', true);

Do you see the difference in ‘’ and '' ?

That is what makes a difference.

So instead of copy/paste I will suggest you to type that in and ofcourse if you have already typed that, Charlie has given you a good advice too.

Please let me know how that goes :slight_smile:

Cheers, PC

• Niom
    • New Recruit

Charlie - Thank you for replying.

I've written to Softaculous as well as the hosting company... but I think it would be best if I take up the courage to do a manual installation of Wordpress.