E-Newsletter plugin conflict (get_current_screen not found)

I'm getting a conflict between the new E-Newsletter Editor and a plugin called Page Security by Contexture.

The error is Fatal error: Call to undefined function get_current_screen() in /opt/lampp/htdocs/canhc/wp-content/plugins/contexture-page-security/core/CTXPS_App.php on line 62

Basically, Email_Newsletter_Builder::construct_builder_head calls the admin_head action without including the Admin Screen API (wp-admin/includes/screen.php).

I believe any other plugin that hooks into admin_head and depends on the Admin Screen API will be similarly broken.

Steps to reproduce:
Install E-Newsletter 2
Install Page Security by Contexture
Try to create a newsletter

• Vaughan
    • Support/SLS MockingJay

hiya

thanks for posting.

I'm not so sure this is a problem with Apps+, but i'm no expert.

I do see that page security by contexture is an out of date plugin though & hasn't been updated since 2012. this could also be a problem with that plugin.

i will flag the developer so he can assess this and try & determine if apps+ is the plugin to blame, or whether it is indeed the page security plugin.

thanks for the report, if you require any further assistance, please ask.

thanks.

• webrn
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

The workaround, of course, would be for me to write a plugin that hooks into the builder_head action at a higher priority than construct_builder_head and load the missing screen API, but I'd rather not have to maintain a separate plugin just to make these two place nice together.

• Maniu
    • Developer

Hey @webrn

I will probably fix it in next release(need to do bit more testing) but generally get_current_screen() should be called in admin_init action to make sure it works correctly... you can modify this for now as it looks like your plugin is not updated anymore.

Thanks,
    Maniu

• Maniu
    • Developer

Hey @webrn