Events+ - creating a custom template

Hi,

I am fairly new to Wordpress coding and was hoping someone could provide a little assistance.

We are using a premium theme and the theme is using single.php to display the event detail page. The main problem is that single.php is displaying the event detail twice. I don't want to modify single.php so I want to create a template based on single.php, or at least I think I do.

I am not sure where I would put this template and I am not sure if there are any naming conventions or how to tell Events+ to use the template.

Could someone provide some steps for me to follow to accomplish this? Coding is not necessary, just some steps on what to do.

Thanks,
Rhek

• Tien

Thanks for the replies,

The Event templates (default and full width) don't play nicely with the theme. The colors and alignment are all messed up. If I don't override appearance or do and select the calendar template we get what we want, but the event detail is duplicated.

So would I start with the calendar single event template or single.php, as the theme developer suggested? Where would I put the template and would my template be deleted with each update of Events+?

Thanks,
    Rhek

• aecnu

Greetings Rhek,

Thank you for bringing this item to our attention.

I am not aware of what you were referring to as the theme developer suggested?

Is the theme developer a WPMU DEV developer or?

I am trying to get a handle on what they indicated because it is their creation and certainly they would know the best practice.

Where would I put the template and would my template be deleted with each update of Events+?

I would have to say yes to the deletion though you could indeed keep a copy on your local computer.

Regarding the place, though I do not know what the theme author had in mind, it would normally be placed in the same place as the others/original page came from but with a different name.

Please advise.

Cheers, Joe

• Tien

Hi,