Expired Pro Sites Still Active

Pay to Blog Feature Enabled, 'Disable Front End' box is checked.
When a user's site expires after our free trial is over, the site front end still functions. It is only when the user logs in, that she is redirected to the checkout page, whilst the front end site is still visible. How could we disable the front end after trial expiry and put a message asking them to log in and pay?