Extend Plugin/shortcode functionality

I am using the Events+ plugin. I’m using the ‘next event countdown’ sub-plugin (i.e. a plugin for the events plus plugin). I want to be able to add the event’s name as part of what the shortcode displays.

I’m not a PHP developer by trade, I’m certainly capable of doing the work but it’s not in my day to day wheelhouse. I could use some help with what to do here…I know the file is ‘eab-events-countdown-for-next-event.php’ but I don’t know what to add to it for it to display the event name. I’m guessing it’s a combination of modifying the SQL query to pull back the event name plus adding in a new name/value pair in the array to optionally display it. Any help is appreciated!

• PC
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

Hello again Mike,

Thanks for the wait.

I pinged our lead developer for this as I knew he would have this handy.

In file : lib/plugins/eab-events-countdown-for-next-event.php, line 236

Replace :

return "<div id='eab_next_event_countdown".$id."'" . $class ."></div>". $script;

With

return “<h4>post_id) . “‘>” . get_the_title($result->post_id) . “</h4><div id=’eab_next_event_countdown”.$id.”‘” . $class .”></div>”. $script;

And you will get the Event name as a H4 link.

I have also moved this to the feature request forum and tagged Vlad so that we can include this as a shortcode attribute in the next version :slight_smile:

Thanks for being a great member of the community and have a nice day.

Cheers, PC

• mike_earley
    • Flash Drive

Here is what I’m trying right now that isn’t working…(note, replaced h4 with div intentionally)…

return "<div" . $post_id . ">" . get_the_title($result->post_id) . "</div><div id='eab_next_event_countdown".$id."'" . $class ."></div>". $script;

It returns the event name correctly but isn’t posting in the countdown anymore.

• Vladislav
    • Dead Eye Dev

Hello,