First time installing WPMUDEV modules/themes and it crashes site

Hi,

I have been working on the web (HTML, Javascript, CSS) for 15 years now, and have been using Wordpress for 4 years. I signed up three months ago for WPMUDEV because I finally have enough companies to work with to justify the cost, and I have been dying to use your plugins for over a year. I had the following first time experience and I just don't even believe it. I have been a member for 3 months so far and searched the forums/google - I'm hoping you guys can put some thought into helping out a total WPMUDEV newb even though I could probably eventually find out all the answers myself :slight_smile:

I went through the following steps:
1) setup account with DigitalOcean (1GB Ram)
2) installed fresh Wordpress Multisite
3) matthewtrip.com, bandrautopros.com sites created (not customized in any way)
4) site loaded great, everything was up to date and ran fast on default themes. So fast I was really happy with the DigitalOcean account I set up more than Site5 (old host)

5) I installed WPMUDEV Dashboard, Communities, Jobs, Classifieds because I really wanted their functionality for my auto mechanic shop

6) I installed Upfront - Fixer theme to bandrautopros.com and Vantage (from SiteOrigin) for matthewtrip.com (once again ZERO customization)

7) tried to access bandrautopros.com and it took forever then crashed mysql server. Has to ssh and restart mysql and site loaded with broken CSS. I went through network admin and disabled Fixer. Then I was able to get the site to load.

8) Installed P3 - Plugin Performance Profiler
a) matthewtrip.com using Vantage theme loaded in 1.5 seconds, .9 seconds were attributed to WPMUDEV Plugins
b) bandrautopros.com using Customizr theme loaded in 4.5 seconds, blaming Classifieds for