Force Unit Completion Refresh - What does this do?

There is an option on each unit titled "Force Unit Completion Refresh". If I check that option and save the unit, then the option is disabled again. I'm unsure what the option does in the first place and am doubly confused as setting it seems to reset itself to disabled.