Forcing Members to Sign Up Using Real Names (First, Last)

Hi All,

I haven't seen this addressed yet but I am co-admin on thedanniapp.com and after some discussion my admin partner and I have decided we want users to use their real names when signing up. It's been a bit of a hassle working with just usernames and trying to match up usernames to Paypal transactions and the like.

Is there something we can do to make it mandatory that real names be used at sign up? I know we'd have to get current users to enter them to their profiles, but new signups we definitely want first and last names at sign up.

Please let me know... I'm not opposed to adding PHP code or whatever to accomplish this, just need to know where and what to modify (I'm not a programmer). :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for your help!
-Lynn

• aecnu

Greetings Lynn,

Thank you for the great questions however with your WordPress installation being a few versions behind not everything is going to work right.

There is no way to assure they use their real names, it will certainly be a challenge just the same.

Coding in the names will indeed require custom coding, and something to create and manage the forms.

You can create a custom registration form using the follwoing coding to address the custom form:

To override any of the pages generated by membership with your own you can easily define the following in your wp-config

MEMBERSHIP_ACCOUNT_FORM
    MEMBERSHIP_REGISTRATION_FORM
    MEMBERSHIP_SUBSCRIPTION_FORM
    MEMBERSHIP_MEMBER_FORM
    MEMBERSHIP_UPGRADE_FORM
    MEMBERSHIP_RENEW_FORM
    MEMBERSHIP_PAYMENT_FORM

using: ('MEMBERSHIP_****_FORM','/full/server/path/to/file/');

To create the form itself you can use something like Gravity Forms or Form Maker plugin or perhaps your favorite form creator and code it all together into your custom registration form.