Friends, friend reqeusts and messaging don't work irrespective of theme

Hi

I am running BP 1.7.1 and WP 3.5.1 have a theme (ProjectTheme by sitemile) with a child theme (Bounce by ghostpool). I had a developer help me set up this. I am not a developer and am a steep learning curve due to a small budget (read: can’t afford a developer at this point).

My problem is that no matter what theme I run (also WPMU themes like Network and Studio) I can make friend requests and receive both mail and WP toolbar notifications that I have a friend request, but when I try to accept I get 404 error. I have no way of accepting outside of the toobar, i.e. no page.

I have tried to figure out how to create a friends page and requests page, but it is beyond my skills. When I look on the FTP I can see that all the .php templates are there. When I look at page attributes and try to choose a template from the drop down I get the following options (I have put what I believe to be the controlling component in brackets): Default (bounce), Blank page (bounce theme), BuddyPress activity directory (BP), Login (WP), Page list (?) and project_special_page (project theme).

Irrespective of which theme I choose (including BP theme) I can not get friends or request pages to work.

How do I fix it? Do I need to create friends and request pages or should they generate automatically? Why are there .php templates, but they don’t show up in the page attributes template list and if I wanted them to show up there how do I do that?

I realise that these are not necessarily easy questions to answer in a post, but if someone can point me in the right direction via documentation or similar, I would appreciate it.

Regards
Jason

• aecnu

Greetings Jason,

Sorry to see that you are having an issue with your WordPress installation and the Membership plugin

What Friends are you referring to? That which is native to BuddyPress or is it the WPMU DEV Friends plugin?