Frustrated with Blogs.MU

I am a beginner! I am having the worst time on how to put everything I want on the site. I did some research but I'm confused, I found that I should use a child theme for this (which I don't understand). Then I found that i just needed to use as is. What I want to do is have a slider on my site with text (kinda how it is shown), use my own logo with text next to it. I don't want to change the site too much cuz I like it as is but I need a slider where the pic is and I'd like the text next to it as well as the logo at top with text next to that. So, please Help!

Thank you

• Patrick

Hiya @km2830

Welcome to the forums!

We hear you! It can get very confusing sometimes when you're just starting out with WordPress. So, let's see if we can walk you through this with simple steps.

First, you only need to create a child-theme if you intend on customizing things beyond what the built-in options enable you to do. In other words, if you are not going to be creating custom CSS style rules, or editing/creating theme templates, you do not need a child-theme. So, forget about that for now.

Let's get your slider working
    Go to "Appearance" > "Theme Options" > "Features Settings" and select "Featured Slider Categories" from the dropdown menu.

Click "Save All Options" (this will bring you back to the main theme options page). Then click "Features Settings" again and you will see a new field where you will enter the ID of the post category you want the slider to pull info from.

To get the post category ID, go to "Posts" > "Categories" in your dashboard, and hover your mouse pointer over the category you want. At the bottom-left of your screen, you will see something like this: ...wp-admin/edit-tags.php?action=edit&taxonomy=category&tag_ID=22&post_type=post The number you see where it says tag_ID is the number you want. Note that you can include multiple categories in your homepage slider; simply take note of all the category IDs you need here.