Getting multisite with domain mapping to work with subdirectory or subdomain

I started out to make a multisite using subDIRECTORY but found problems along the way. The first being the default for a new wordpress install is subDOMAIN after enabling the network setting in my environment. I am not going into all the problems I ran into along the way to arrive at this configuration but I hope that someone can find a problem with this current configuration before it bites me or someone using this configuration.

I ended up with an .htaccess file that I believe supports subDIRECTORY and subDOMAIN at the same time. Additionally hating hardcoding I configured the multisite part of wp-config.php to handle any domain. So I hope this configuration can just be duplicated for the next site.

I don't know if I accomplished a totally working configuration. I am brand new to this platform with most of my experience in the Drupal word.

I now seem to have a working multisite with domain mapping using the wpmu plugin Domain Mapping. The various pieces of info around the web and here in support land helped to cobble together the following files: .ht access and wp-config.php

I am writing this to ask if anyone can find a problem in this configuration going forward actually using and expanding a multisite network and hopefully it will help someone get to here much faster than I did. I plan on using more plugins like pro sites, marketpress ecommerce and multisite content copier and would really like to know if I am going to have problems using these plugins and others.

One thing I have not included in the .htaccess file are these uploaded files lines. Not sure if it is needed but I saw it mentioned in a lot of places. Is it needed?
#uploaded files
RewriteRule ^(.*/)?files/$ index.php [L]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} !.*wp-content/plugins.*
RewriteRule ^(.*/)?files/(.*) wp-includes/ms-files.php?file=$2 [L]

Here are my current configurations.