Help building a WP site around an existing vbulletin forum??

Hey Guys!

I am pretty new here and I am overwhelmed by the kind and professional atmosphere!

I am also very new to wp and I am currently setting up a webshop using Marketpress which is going slower than slow but it´s fun and I am learning a lot.

When (or if!) the webshop is up and running I will start my next project and that´s were I will need some serious help.

I run an international forum here: http://www.sakocollectors.com/forum using vbulletin 4 and I will try to attempt to build a large site around it using wp. Don´t look to close at the CMS as I have done nothing to it!!

I will try to ask as straight forward as I can but please let me know if you can´t follow my (very) thin red line.
I will need several things done and I list them below in no particular order.

First, the CMS in vbulletin is c**p (IMHO) to say the least so I will need a substitute and I am thinking of just a static welcome/splash page. That ought to be quite easy. To kick it up a notch I might try to incorporate a few widgets like latest posts etc but that is not neccessary.

Then I will need several galleries or similar as I will build reference sections with pics and info on the various models we collect and discuss at our forum. These galleries will be quite large since we have many models and submodels to display. So easy navigation is essential as is the need for subscriptions. These galleries will be for certain members on my forum who has reached a certain level.

Later on, I may also need a smal club shop for club items but that will have to come later. But it´s good to set the whole site up so I can incorporate one later on.

I also need a nice looking theme for the whole site and it´s important that it´s possible to "tweak" the vbulletin forum so it resembles the theme I choose. Here it´s getting tricky for me as I don´t know anything about coding, CSS or anything really. I also find vbulletin hard to deal with.