HELP: Complex Member structure

Greetings,

I am working on creating a paid Buddypress site using the Membership plugin. However, my implementation is pretty complex and I’m still fairly new to WordPress development.

Here is what I need to do:

A user has an option to sign up as a business or an individual for X amount of dollars. If the user signs up as an individual the functionality is pretty basic.

If a user signs up as a business an account is created. When that user signs in he has access to a special business page. On that page is an option to add users. For each user that is created it becomes a child user of this business account and the business account’s monthly subscription goes up X amount of dollars. All these users, whether individual, business, or a sub of a business will act as a basic Buddypress member.

How tough would this be to implement? I’m a decent developer, but lack experience with WordPress. I’m on a short time frame, so I can’t spend a lot of time digging through the source.

I hope I explained what I need well enough. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

• Mason
    • DEV MAN’s Sidekick

Hiya dwhite,

All of that would be doable, but they way I’d go about it would be largely dependent on what the ‘special business page’ is. Is it a BuddyPress group? A WordPress site (on multisite)?

This would dictate how the other users are ‘added’ to that particular business-specific area.

A bit more detail and we can point ya in the right direction.

Thanks!

• dwhite
    • WPMU DEV Initiate

I hadn’t thought about that correlation. It definitely would not be a separate site through Multisite. I’m not planning on enabling Multisite.

A private group would work good. Any user that belonged to it must be an employee of that ‘Business’ group. Then the business group owner’s monthly subscription would depend on the number of user he has created/added to the group.