Help! I made the switch...now what?

Hello~
I am brand spankin' new here and totally overwhelmed. After chatting with the wpmuDEV people for the past week, I decided that WPMU w/ Marketpress was exactly what I needed. I was assured that the transition would be flawless. I specifically asked if I would lose my content, seo, tags, plugins, etc. David from WPMUdev told me everything BUT the plugins would transfer over. This was a huge relief as I am not a programmer, I don't know code and have no clue about mySQL or ftp. I was under the impression that paying the fee to wp.mu would sort of auto-pilot me through this.

It appears that I not only lost my plugins (which I was prepared for), but I lost everything.
Is there anyone who can help? I need my content back asap. I worked way too hard for it to be gone. I am sure there must be a way, I just don't know what it is :slight_frown:

• Mason
    • DEV MAN’s Sidekick

Hiya tutuology,

First off, welcome to WPMU DEV!

Ugh, that's no fun losing content - but I bet we can help ya recover it.

There's several ways to get this taken care of and quite a bit of information that we'll need to get a look at this.

First off, did you use the WordPress export feature (under the tools menu in admin) to get a backup copy?

What version of WordPress were you running? The latest 3.0.5?

If you went through WP.MU I'm thinking you got a brand new setup, is this correct?

If so, then you're old install should still be available. This means we can still get to and export the information. If that's true, then let me know. It should be as simple as changing some information back over with your domain registrar (godaddy or similar).

Let us know and we'll walk ya through it :slight_smile:

• tutuology
    • The Bug Hunter