How can I import members with subscription data

Hi There,

I have a database of subscribers to a magazine which we have now launched online and we are using the membership 2 plugin.

Can you please tell me how I can import my existing magazine subscribers into membership 2 as users/members.

We have a database or csv file with all the necessary fields including first name, last name, email, a password etc.

This is urgent :slight_smile: so i hope someone is on the support line tonight (it does indicate 24/7 responses)

• Nastia

Hello @timvb, I hope you are well today!

Thank you for your question!

You can use json file to import members and memberships. If you go to Membership 2 > Settings > Import Tool > Export Data and you will get a json file. I recommend to export from membership 2, get the json file and follow the format.

Please, feel free to let me know if you require any further information.

Kind Regards,
    Nastia

• timvb

Hi @Anastasia

Ok great .. I'll look at that export .. then create a json file matching that for import.

Is there a template somewhere .. the file i get is quite difficult to understand the format.

Can you please also tell me how do I add custom fields for the member profile .. I need to add things such as postal address for receiving our actual printed magazine .. and also their current subscriber number etc etc ..

Also .. can I import passwords ? I want to set a temporary password which will be printed and sent to them.

Tim

• Sajid

@AnastasiaHi @timvb,

Hope you are doing good today :slight_smile:

I am glad to know you have manage to import your users, perfect. Now you can easily import memberships and their relationship with them by using the Membership 2 import/export tool.