How do you reset the "Spirit Theme" back to default settings?

Is there a way to resent the Spirit theme back to default settings? I am still learning CSS and accidentally deleted a page element in the Customize area that I wanted to keep. I had saved it and then realized I couldn’t undo what I just deleted. Urg.

I’ve tried uninstalling and reinstalling (deleting all the associate files as well) and it still comes back up with the way I left it.

Any suggestions?

• Patrick
    • Support Monkey

Hi there @martiel

Welcome to WPMU DEV, glad to have you aboard!

After saving, you should be able to "undo" an action. However, you cannot undo what was previously done before saving & exiting the Upfront editor. In other words, when you launch the Upfront editor, you cannot undo what was done during a previous editing session.

Upfront & its child-themes save all settings to the database. Essentially, any element you move/remove/edit on the Upfront theme, or make any change to the layout gets saved to the DB. The DB data then takes precedence over the theme layouts.

According to the lead designer, this is as much a limitation as it is a necessity. It also means that in order to re-set the theme layouts to defaults, the database must be editied.

To do so is really not complicated though, no fear. :slight_smile:

In phpMyAdmin, select the wp_options table (if you're running a multisite, the table will include the site ID in the prefix like: wp_43_options).

Then delete all options that begin with Spirit_ (see screenshot below). That will clear the database for the site where Spirit is active, and reset the theme to its default settings. You can then satrt over.

I hope this helps! And thanks for being a member :slight_smile:

• Mario
    • The Incredible Code Injector

There should be another option, if you’re playing with UpFront on a fresh website in a multi-site installation:

1. Create another dummy site