How to include first and last name in MailChimp?

Hi,
I'm testing out MailChimp
I capture First and Last names on registration using Cimy User Extra Fields. I noticed that when using the Mail Chimp integration plugin, it is only uploading the email address. Is there a way to have the plugin include the First and Last names?

Also, I'm confused on whether the plugin should be single site or network activated? I want to send Getting Started newsletters to all new blog sign-ups. Since all sites use the main blog signup.php, does the plugin need to be activated only on the main blog?

• Jennifer

I'm having the same issue. I'm using the add-on in the Protected Content plugin. I can't find any errors logs.

I checked the plugin and add-on files. I'm no programmer, but this is what I found:

In the plugin /app/view/shortcode/class-ms-view-shortcode-registeruser.php

line 110:

'first_name' => array(
    				'id' => 'first_name',
    				'title' => __( 'First Name', MS_TEXT_DOMAIN ),
    				'type' => MS_Helper_Html::INPUT_TYPE_TEXT,
    				'value' => $data['first_name'],
    			),

'last_name' => array(
    				'id' => 'last_name',
    				'title' => __( 'Last Name', MS_TEXT_DOMAIN ),
    				'type' => MS_Helper_Html::INPUT_TYPE_TEXT,
    				'value' => $data['last_name'],
    			),

In the add-on /mailchimp/class-ms-addon-mailchimp.php

line 381:

$merge_vars = array();
    			if ( ! empty( $member->first_name ) ) {
    				$merge_vars['FNAME'] = $member->first_name;
    			}

if ( ! empty( $member->last_name ) ) {
    				$merge_vars['LNAME'] = $member->last_name;
    			}

I checked the MailChimp list and their field columns are "First Name" and "Last Name" though their merge tags are FNAME and LNAME.

Are the titles missing from the add-on script? Or some merge tag conflict? It just doesn't seem like MailChimp is recognizing the name values being thrown at it.

j

• Predrag Dubajic

Hi @Jennifer,