How to Use Dashboard Plugins

Hello!

Sorry for the elementary questions..... I am just learning so please excuse me.

I have read the installation instructions, as well as, the forums and still have a few questions as to how to get these up and operating.

What I am gathering is that you have to go into the coding to first, activate the widget(s) so it displays under Appearance> widgets. Also, you must edit the coding for placement on the dashboard?

How exactly do I use the widget order plugin to get a widget to appear under Appearance> widgets?
Where do I go to utilize the custom dashboard plugin? How do I use it?
Same for Dashboard Feeds... Where do I locate it? How do I use it?

All your help is so greatly appreciated!!!!

Thank You!

• Mason
    • DEV MAN’s Sidekick

Hiya mcannova,

No worries about the questions. We're here to help! :smiley:

The confusion here (and it's easy to do) is that there are the widgets under Appearance>Widgets, but the items that display when you click on the 'Dashboard' link are also called widgets. By default you probably have 2 columns with separate 'boxes' that display information about the site. These are also referred to as Widgets and are what this plugin is meant to help you with.

Let us know if you need further help!

Thanks!

• mcannova
    • Design Lord, Child of Thor

Ah! Ok! So we are talking about the widgets inside the dashboard....

Still a little confused as to how to use it? I see the custom content box in my dashboard..... How do I use it? Where do I go to input the information that I want to show?

Also, where do you go to edit the other boxes in the dashboard? ( same place as above )

I am assuming that the by using the order plugin I can just drag and drop the boxes accordingly.

One more question??? Sorry:slight_smile:

What file or where do I go to input the Dashboard Feeds?

Once Again, Thank you so Much!

• Mason
    • DEV MAN’s Sidekick

HIya mcannova,

You're looking at two separate plugins I believe.