I am fairly new at wordpress, I just created a custom post

Hi I am fairly new at wordpress, I just created a custom post type "information" using custom press and where it asked if I wanted to use categories and tags said ..yes.
Then I created some posts and assigned them to different categories and published. In the theme 2013 it has the categories widget which shows my categories with the correct post count(Access(2),Advocacy(3),Information(5)But when I click on any of them it comes up with "nothing found". this is the case with other themes and I am tearing my hair out, why doesn't it work?

• Alexander

Hi @Derrick,

What's happening here is that Wordpress is linking to that category, but under the standard "posts" post type. This ends up having no results.

With your post type, instead of using "Support Regular Taxonomies" you can create your own taxonomies to categorize your content.

Then you'll just need to use a different widget. Perhaps this one for recent content: https://premium.wpmudev.org/project/recent-custom-posts-type-widget/

Best regards,

• Derrick

I am sorry for being dumb but, it says

Support Regular Taxonomies
    Assign regular taxonomies to this Post Type.
    Categories
    Tags,

But you are saying it doesn't support categories and tags or rather that they aren't recognised?? so whats the point of the above? If I am not assigning my categories to also include a different post type what am i doing?

Say I have a Post about an author writing on birds of the Masaai Mara. I then have a post type for books where all his books show up and a post type for dvds. I want to add the books and dvds that are specifically about Birds of the Masaai Mara + the article under the category/tag "African Birds" so someone could see all articles from each of their sections "post types" that fit one category.