I am writing you to address some ongoing nuances

Hi: I am writing you to address some ongoing nuances I am experiencing with the Directory plug-in.

My goal over the next few days is to get a grip on a good Wordpress directory format. I am not sure if my best bet is WPMU Directory or not. I say this because I have been using it since it was launched and been a part of some painful upgrades.

Today I was surfing the web trying to find a good solution that meets my needs. Unfortunately I stumbled across some negative reviews about the WPMU Directory plug-in. Since I have been a paid member for years I thought I would table this here because I am struggling with this plug-in/theme once again.

Hopefully the great support staff can set me straight here. Here's a few questions I have:

1. How to I perform customization of preferred theme as I don't like the default theme I have been using for a couple years. Here's the theme I want to use now which is 100% responsive http://directory.orilliabusiness.com/.
2. Short codes don't seem to work correctly no matter what theme I use. For example how do I get all categories to display on a page? This page http://directory.orilliabusiness.com/listings-2/ has this short code [dr_list_categories style="grid | list"] placed but it only displays categories up to the letter 'F'.
3. Widgets not available in my widget settings for the directory. I want to insert some things on the sidebar like directory tags, ratings etc. Not sure if I am missing something but I cannot find any widget support for this plug-in.

I would really appreciate any advice or help you can offer as I am on a mission to get control over the functionality of this directory.

Thanks a Bunch!

• Jack Kitterhing

Hi there @Rob,

Hope you're well today and thanks for your questions. :slight_smile:

1: Are you trying to edit a theme for compatibility with Directory, or are you trying to edit the default directory theme?