I have installed the dashboard into an existing single site and logged in.

I have been reading the manual and I don't seem to be able to find the wp-config.php file. I extracted the dashboard folder I downloaded and looked and I looked in the install on Bluehost. Where should it be?
Nor have I been asked to decide whether to set things up as subdomains or subfolders.
I'm not a rank beginner and follow directions well but I really seem to be missing something.

• Tyler Postle

Hey MoLoSo,

Hope you're doing well this weekend!

I extracted the dashboard folder I downloaded and looked and I looked in the install on Bluehost. Where should it be?

The wp-config.php file should be in your root WordPress folder. Whichever folder your WordPress installation was installed in :slight_smile:

Nor have I been asked to decide whether to set things up as subdomains or subfolders.

For a multisite? Really comes down to personal preference. There isn't much of a difference beside the structure of the url.

Personally I prefer the format of the subdomain installations.

With that said, subdirectory installations have their benefits too, it is easier to setup SSL on because you can just buy a basic one and it will apply for all your sites :slight_smile:

Let us know if you have any further questions here MoLoSo!

Have a great rest of your weekend.

All the best,
    Tyler

PS. With the dashboard installation, you don't need to edit the wp-config.php - the defines you see on the usage guide are only if you want to set it for multiple admin users or lock it to one. By default it will lock to whichever user you install/activate it with.

• MoLoSo

Thanks Tyler but I'm no further ahead. OK perhaps I don't have the right things. I installed \357503_wpmu-dev-dashboard-3.4.9.zip to my wordpress site.