I'm a wp newbie, so I'm not sure if I'm missing a basic

Hi, I'm a wp newbie, so I'm not sure if I'm missing a basic point.
I'm creating a site that has some wp generated pages & some static pages. I get that I can use Pages>Add New to create a static page. I've also managed to set up a theme, with the display that I'm after. However, when I use page.php from the theme folder, it doesn't show any of the content I have typed into the 'Add New' page section. I have read that I should create a new page in the theme folder called page-{slug} (in this case 'About') which I have done but it is still behaving in the same way as if I had just used page.php. Where am I going wrong?

• Michelle Shull
    • DEV MAN’s Apprentice

Hi, Barnaby!

Can I ask what you need to change about the page template? Changing the template itself, not the content, would be the only reason to edit a PHP file with WordPress.

I think what you want to do is to create a new page named About, then you can add a link to that page in your navigation menu, by going to Appearance > Menus.

Let me know if I'm misunderstanding you here, Barnaby!

• Barnaby
    • Site Builder, Child of Zeus

Do I just need to put what is in the template file above the content in the static page then?
    so for instance:
    <?php get_header(); ?>
    Static page content here.
    <?php get_sidebar(); ?>
    <?php get_footer(); ?>

Apologies if this is Wordpress 101!

• Tyler Postle
    • CGO

Hey Barnaby,

Hope you're doing well today and thanks for your question!

I'm a little bit confused about what you are attempting here as well. If you want a static page then simply create an "About" page via Pages > Add new with static content. as Michelle mentioned above.

If you want a special template for your about page then you can make a copy of your page.php and re-name it page-about.php

This is assuming "about" is your page slug(site.com/about)

Then you can customize the layout of it :slight_smile: