Image compression quality

Hi Guys, The site I'm working on is cloaked and the above url is not relevant for this question.

I recently purchased smush to help optimize my images. However, I've noticed that I continue to have trouble with image quality overall. I'm trying to use a Wordpress theme which enlarges each image in my portfolio by 200%. Images are currently being save as a press ready PDF out of Indesign, placed in psd to add backgrounds and size accurately for the 800dpi image space, and exported for web (to optimize). All of the text looks like heck! And when the images are enlarged they look even worse. As a designer, I want to maintain quality on the zoomed view. Any way to do this? Also, I can get the images to be very crisp from the PDF in photoshop, but don't know if they are losing the quality from the export for web, the wordpress compression, or the smush.... or all three. Any advice? Do I need to turn off Wordpress compression? Is this a known issue with Smush as a "normal" compromise for site speed?

• Kasia Swiderska
    • Support nomad

Hello Ann,

If you need to keep original images not compressed, in good quality you should not Smush them. Smushing and Super Smushing will change image quality. So if those images need to be as sharp as possible, you need to disable option Smush my original full-size images .
    When the site is displayed it should show a thumbnail for the images - those thumbnails should be compressed, but then enlarged images not. If your theme uses original images as thumbnails, then it's not a correct way (in this case you can try then use Smush CDN and that should help).

Every compression will affect the quality of the images. If images are correct after saving them in Photoshop and you want to keep that quality, you should disable compressing in WordPress and then in Smush for original images.

kind regards,
    Kasia

• Ann
    • New Recruit

Hi Kasia,